Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Thai Chicken with Ginger and Mushrooms - Gai King Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thai Chicken with Ginger and Mushrooms - Gai King

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2008

      The recipe was very disappointing. It lacked the true Thai punch...sweet, sour, salty, and piquant. It wasn't a total flop, we were able to eat it. I would suggest that you "save the chew' and try something else.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Superb. I added a little more vinegar and soy to get extra sauce but only a 1/2 tbs each. The flavor was fantastic, only mint i had was spearmint but it worked nicely in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Very nice. Both dh & myself liked it. I would like a touch more sauce, maybe next time I will double the sauce. I did not add the mint leaves. Not only since I didn't have them, I just couldn't imagine we would like them. I also used button mushroom because that's all I had, but I had to pick them out of dh serving anyway, as he has some kind of mushroom phobia. I purchased some Thai peppers at the local farmers market, and this is one of my first experiences with them. I like them! Thank you very much, I am sure we will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      My only change was to use dried shiitake mushrooms rehydrated, and to substitute some lemongrass for mint. This made a light sauce that was delicious and tasty. My only complaint is that the fish sauce came on a wee bit too strong for me, and I tend to like the stuff. Next time I'll use 1T. Also, not much sauce for the accompanying steamed jasmine rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      good and healthy dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Loved it! I didn't have any mushrooms so I added some green beans I had instead. Very easy and very tasty :) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

    • on January 01, 2006

      I love you !! The dish was wonderful . I followed your recipe almost exactly and turned out a 5-star-dish! I used 1 tablespoon of dried mint because I didn't have fresh one. It was just perfect.. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      I'm glad I grow spearmint in the backyard.. this was very good and I have made this twice already. I didn't have shiitake mushrooms so I just had to use regular ones and I also didn't have any green onions so I used a shallot that I had leftover. Still came out fine. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      Outstanding. Like Roosie, this is different from other Thai dishes I have made, and that is certainly part of the attraction. But more than that, this dish is a wonderful blend of flavours and textures. I loved the crunch of the green onion, the freshness of the mint and the spicy bite of the ginger. I used 8 oz portobello mushrooms, sliced, as that is what I had on hand, two chopped fresh red chillies and added some shredded bok choy (which I needed to use up) near the end of the cooking time. A superb recipe which I will surely make again. Thanks for posting (you are sorely missed).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2005

      I've had this in my cookbook forever, and I am so glad that we finally tried it. I found the flavours to be very authentically thai and we really enjoyed this with some basmati rice. The best part is the shitakes so if you can afford it, double up! Thanks for another great recipe Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2004

      The main entree last night for a dinner party. Everyone loved it and commented on how individualized the flavors were. The aroma when cooking is wonderful--fresh ginger, mint and the jasmine rice. I used a chili paste and it had a nice kick. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      Sue, you're a Thai food goddess! We followed the recipe exactly except for a few things- we used part thighs and part breasts and rather than the Thai chilies, we added some curry paste to taste (we don't like it that hot so it was probably just a little more than 1/2 tsp and we added some red bell pepper (we usually do.). This was soooo yummy. It's different from most of the Thai dishes I have ever made/had in that there wasn't really a sauce- it really is basically just a stir-fry. Wonderful flavors- the mint added just a hint of flavor, but was so good. I liked that the mushrooms were only lightly cooked- it allowed the shiitake flavor to shine through rather than being masked by other flavors. Simple and delicious. Thanks for posting. This was phenomenal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thai Chicken with Ginger and Mushrooms - Gai King

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.1
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    33%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 98.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1314.8 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites