Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Southern Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2004

      This was a very good recipe! I made one substitution: I swapped the oil for unsweetened applesauce. This made the cornbread rather more like a cake though, but it was still delicious. My son loves it! For 8 servings, with the applesauce substitution, one serving has 3 ww points! Very yummy! Good with ham and beans!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      Thanks Beachgirl for a great cornbread recipe without the guilt! I made it with whole wheat pastry flour, applesauce instead of oil, and Splenda. It turned out very good. We had it with chili and it was a nice compliment to the chili. We will use this recipe often. Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      YUMMY!!! Just finished my dinner of cornmeal coated catfish, spicy rice with red beans and cornbread and it was scrumptious! Such an easy recipe and it came out of the pan so easy that it went right from oven to table. Thanks Beachgirl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      I made the regular milk version of this cornbread and it was delicious. I have never made edible cornbread so this was an occasion! I can't wait to try it with buttermilk. It was easy and the directions are very clear. Thank you BeachGirl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2003

      this is a very light cornbread that is prefect for a stuffing mix. the prep was very easy, thanks beachgirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I had some cornmeal that I was trying to use, and was in the mood for sweet cornbread (don't tell my mom!). When I threw this together I was a bit worried because it seemed a bit thin, but it did puff up a bit. I really enjoyed it, and dh did too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      Very good cornbread. I like using the yellow meal. It makes it so much better. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2004

      This cornbread seemed to be lacking in flavor for us. I thought that more salt and sugar might improve the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (71 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    34%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 21.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 278.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes