Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Sourdough-Sausage Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sourdough-Sausage Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2012

      I have been making stuffing in the slow cooker for years now, as it frees up the oven for other things. My dad always deep fries the turkey, so no stuffing the bird for us. My whole family really liked this recipe. I got a 1 pound round sourdough loaf and cubed it up the night before. Cooked this on high for about 2 hours, then low until the rest of dinner was done. I will definitely make this again, as it's already been requested for next year. Only change was to add a can of cream of celery soup rather than the diced celery, as we prefer that, and I caramelized the onions before adding them. Next time I'll try a different sausage, as I wasn't crazy about the taste of the Italian, but no complaints from anyone else. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Skip the sage, and use JIMMY DEAN SAGE stuffing! I was just about to post this recipe, it's our family's favorite :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This was a good stuffing. I normally use a different recipe, but this year I could not find it anywhere, so I looked for another and chose this one. I was rushing and accidentally put in too much broth, which resulted in it being too mushy after cooking, so I let it continue to cook to try and dry it out which resulted in me overcooking it. Still, I received compliments on it, and personally I thought it was good too, so I would definitely continue to use this recipe in years to come. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This was really good, our family who doesn't like stuffing loved it. The only thing we didn't like was the sage, even though I did reduce the amount to a half teaspoon. Next time I will omit the sage altogether, and also add some chopped mushrooms. Thanks for a tasty alternative to traditional stuffing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This was spectacular! I didn't have any sourdough, so i used plain white bread, and it still came out sooo tastey. I can only imagine what using the right type of bread would add. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      I made this for thanksgiving and christmas!wonderful!i added baby portobello mushrooms and everyone loved it!thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      I didn't taste it, but I made it for Thanksgiving, and EVERYONE raved about it. I didn't get a chance to try any because it was gone, by the time I got to the table!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      Just made this for Thanksgiving dinner - was very tasty and moist. I used one pkg of Jimmy Dean herb/sage sausage which blended well with the other spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2003

      This was really good, left out the parsley and used 1 pkg Jimmy Dean bulk mild sausage. Careful not to overcook the sausage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sourdough-Sausage Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (390 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 994.5
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    12%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.7 mg
    5%
    Sodium 2037.1 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 176.4 g
    58%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 41.5 g
    83%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-sodium fat-free chicken broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites