Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      Yum. I used green onions rather than chives and whisked two eggs. Perfect taste and thickness for us. I need to remember to make this more often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I essentially ended up doing everything in my power to make this recipe not work (unintentionally, of course), and it STILL tasted WONDERFUL! I am living in Shanghai and really wanted some good egg drop soup like back home, ran across this recipe and went for it. I didn't have most of the ingredients, so I subbed onion powder, garlic salt, powdered ginger, and chinese (fake) chicken bouillon powder. It gets worse from there. I had to heat the water to incorporate the bouillon, then got over-zealous at the wonderful smell of the soup and removed the reserved stock and, without thinking, threw it into my cornstarch (yes, hot, ugh!), then hurriedly whisked together 3 whole eggs. Next time I will use home-made chicken stock, green onions, fresh ginger and probably add some sliced water chestnuts and cubed chicken. I think I will also try it with 2 egg whites and one whole egg as the eggs were pretty heavy. And DirtyPaws?: if you let the stock boil at a slow to medium rolling boil you can get the large ribbons by drizzling the egg from one side of the pan to the other. You will still end up with some small flakes, but mine were nearly all intact.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Wow. This really tastes just like I ordered it from a restaurant. I used regular chicken broth, garlic, and substituted scallions for the chives. The ginger really makes this good. I'll be making this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      Easy to make and really delicious. I made a few changes, increase amount of ground ginger, used garlic powder vs fresh (didn't' have any on hand) added some chopped frozen spinach & chilli flakes. Soup was a bit watery so will use more corn starch next time & 1 eggs + 1/2cup egg white.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      Exactly how I like my Egg Drop Soup. I use green onion instead of chives and add crispy fried wonton strips to the top when serving. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      fantastic!! plus, it was super easy to put together! love the addition of ginger and garlic. i also sauteed some carrots, red bell peppers and celery before adding the broth. i only used 1 egg and i omitted the cornstarch. my 3 yo dd LOVED this!! thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This was excellent! I used two green onions in place of the chives. (I didn't have any chives on hand.) I also used some thin-sliced bamboo shoots that I cut into small matchsticks to give it some crunch. I will make this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Excellent. Flavors were perfect. I will only used 1 egg and 1 egg yolk next time as it was really eggy. Thanks Kitz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Fantastic! Cheap, healthy and delicious. We also added soy sauce, scallions, chicken, & waterchestnuts. Will be making this one at least a couple of times a month. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Good stuff kitten! I used only egg whites, cuz I'm a health nut. ;) And I used fresh ginger and scallions instead of chives. I did add a few dashes of soy sauce. I love that this was flavorful without the massive amount of sodium in the real restaurant stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      My first atempt at egg drop soup and it came out really well. I think I may need some more practice 'dropping' the eggs but the taste was really good. I want to learn how to get the eggs to be long flat ribbons like at the restaraunts. Mine were small little specks and a few small chunks as I lost my grip a couple of times while 'drizzling.' For me this was the perfect consistency - I don't like it thick at all. I like more of a broth for egg drop soup. Oh, I too add soy sauce, but just to my bowl. I may come back to this review cuz I'll be practicing this one some more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      awesome taste! The only thing I will change is to add a little more cornstarch we like our soup to be a little thicker as it was quite thin. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      This is a great recipe, keep it up. Don't miss this recipe. This is as close to going out to eat at a restaurant as possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This is soooo good! Thank you for sharing the recipe, sure beats the one i had. I've replaced it with this recipe, loved it! ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.0
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    44%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 269.0 mg
    89%
    Sodium 510.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes