20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I picked this recipe in dare!, and had it chosen, cooked, eaten and reviewed in 3 hours. That's because it's a simple recipe made with common (for our house) ingredients, but the taste was fantastic. I had 1kg of pumpkin which looked about half the 8 cups Evelyn asked for. It was a very generous serve for 4 people along with roasted potatoes, steamed veg and a roast shoulder of pork. We eat a lot of roasted pumpkin, but this recipe made it special.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS September 03, 2003

This is easier than I thought. The taste is pretty good. I microwaved the whole squash to soften it up and make peeling easier. It did not take long to bake. The dredging does make the taste a lot better. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 07, 2013

Excellent. The ingredient list looked too simple to have this much flavor but I'm very glad I took a chance on this recipe.

I increased the basil and reduced the olive oil. The flour dredging makes a big difference to the flavor and texture (I used a ziploc bag to 'shake' the pieces with whole wheat flour). I also threw in a sweet potato.

Thank you, this will be on my regular dinner rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl February 16, 2013

good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
romagen November 17, 2010

My D oldest D who introduced me to RecipeZaar last year made this for me during a recent visit to her home. I have to say I thought the recipe sounded exotic or different! I've never had anything like this - it was so good! I think she followed the recipe exactly. I can't wait for pumpkins to come back into season. A keeper for sure! Thank you. And thank you DD.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jb Tyler, TX January 28, 2010

Easy and tasty. A very interesting effect with the firm edges and the soft middles. As they got cooler, some of the chunks seemed a little dry on the inside, but overall they were good. I think it may have been in part because I used the olive oil spray and maybe was a bit too sparing. BUT---I was thinking of doing this again and cutting the pieces into steak-fry sized sticks, and essentially using them as a healthier (and tastier!) variant on a french fry. I used garlic powder rather than actual garlic to achieve better distribution of the flavor. Also, 1/4 cup of flour was more than enough for the amount of squash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville January 08, 2010

I've never tried coating pumpkin or squash in flour before baking, so I knew I had to try this. I had a medium-ish sized pumpkin and thought I wouldn't have 8 cups but ended up with at least 9 or 10! I mostly eyeballed the amount of seasoning and it all worked out nicely. I love how the flour gave the pumpkin just a little bit of extra crispness. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu December 25, 2009

I made this recipe with a regular mid size pumpkin~used cooking spray on the pan &drizzled olive oil on half way through /since I was out of basil used Italian herbs & garlic the recipe easily made 8-10 cups cups of servings -delicious!~I left the Pumkin Tian to brown on one side & it made for aninteresting contrastof taste & textures(6cups were cooled & frozen for later use-hopeit turns out as nice?p.s I added a second tablesoon of parmean cheese per freezer bag of pumkin)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kazookie October 22, 2008

Just excellent aned easy. Mine looked just like Chef Flower's photo. I'm trying to find a way to work them into the xmas menu now. I only made enough for 2 but we could have eaten more. I also used just a few drips of oil and no problem. Oh, and no basil, so I used herbes de provence and just great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha December 17, 2007
Pumpkin or Butternut Squash Tian