Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Pumpkin or Butternut Squash Tian Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin or Butternut Squash Tian

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2003

      I picked this recipe in dare!, and had it chosen, cooked, eaten and reviewed in 3 hours. That's because it's a simple recipe made with common (for our house) ingredients, but the taste was fantastic. I had 1kg of pumpkin which looked about half the 8 cups Evelyn asked for. It was a very generous serve for 4 people along with roasted potatoes, steamed veg and a roast shoulder of pork. We eat a lot of roasted pumpkin, but this recipe made it special.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      This is easier than I thought. The taste is pretty good. I microwaved the whole squash to soften it up and make peeling easier. It did not take long to bake. The dredging does make the taste a lot better. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      Excellent. The ingredient list looked too simple to have this much flavor but I'm very glad I took a chance on this recipe.

      I increased the basil and reduced the olive oil. The flour dredging makes a big difference to the flavor and texture (I used a ziploc bag to 'shake' the pieces with whole wheat flour). I also threw in a sweet potato.

      Thank you, this will be on my regular dinner rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      My D oldest D who introduced me to RecipeZaar last year made this for me during a recent visit to her home. I have to say I thought the recipe sounded exotic or different! I've never had anything like this - it was so good! I think she followed the recipe exactly. I can't wait for pumpkins to come back into season. A keeper for sure! Thank you. And thank you DD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Easy and tasty. A very interesting effect with the firm edges and the soft middles. As they got cooler, some of the chunks seemed a little dry on the inside, but overall they were good. I think it may have been in part because I used the olive oil spray and maybe was a bit too sparing. BUT---I was thinking of doing this again and cutting the pieces into steak-fry sized sticks, and essentially using them as a healthier (and tastier!) variant on a french fry. I used garlic powder rather than actual garlic to achieve better distribution of the flavor. Also, 1/4 cup of flour was more than enough for the amount of squash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I've never tried coating pumpkin or squash in flour before baking, so I knew I had to try this. I had a medium-ish sized pumpkin and thought I wouldn't have 8 cups but ended up with at least 9 or 10! I mostly eyeballed the amount of seasoning and it all worked out nicely. I love how the flour gave the pumpkin just a little bit of extra crispness. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

    • on October 22, 2008

      I made this recipe with a regular mid size pumpkin~used cooking spray on the pan &drizzled olive oil on half way through /since I was out of basil used Italian herbs & garlic the recipe easily made 8-10 cups cups of servings -delicious!~I left the Pumkin Tian to brown on one side & it made for aninteresting contrastof taste & textures(6cups were cooled & frozen for later use-hopeit turns out as nice?p.s I added a second tablesoon of parmean cheese per freezer bag of pumkin)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Just excellent aned easy. Mine looked just like Chef Flower's photo. I'm trying to find a way to work them into the xmas menu now. I only made enough for 2 but we could have eaten more. I also used just a few drips of oil and no problem. Oh, and no basil, so I used herbes de provence and just great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      Like this needs another rating! I served this dish at a dinner party...everyone raved about it. I did do roughly 6 cups (half a large Kent pumpkin) and this was ample for 6 people with a serve leftover...this I had on toast for breakfast the next day and it was heavenly...definitely will be a regular in this house!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I made this for *Zaar World Tour III* this was a great way of preparing pumpkin. All the flavours blended in very nicely and instructions were perfect. Thank you evelyn/athens

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      The description says it all. This was pure vegetable heaven. I will not do my roast pumpkin any other way from now on. Thanks Ev for a great recipe! Made for ZWT III

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      My boyfriend made this for his family Thanksgiving. It was the talk of the dinner. A very creative and tasty addition any holiday meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Simple and delicious! We had this as a side with our Christmas turkey. Thanks for sharing evelyn/athens

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      delicious. uses a lot of oil though so perhaps not for the calorie conscious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Roast pumpkin, yummm..one of my favourite vegetables. I served this with a roast beef dinner. Delicious, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      A delightful vege dish that's easy to prepare & a nice change from regular roast pumpkin. I sprayed mine with olive oil spray instead of drizzling to keep the cals down and it worked a treat. A keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      Suddenly realized I haven't reviewed this despite having it quite a few times! This is a seriously beautiful side dish, the flavours melt perfectly together and it goes with just about anything. Easy too, I love veggie side dishes which you can chuck in the oven and forget about! Thanks for an ace recipe Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      I've had this recipe picked out for some time now. I'm so glad I finally got around to trying it. I used a butternut squash. Be sure that it browns nicely otherwise you get a floury taste. The inside just melts and is creamy. I served this with a salad and some baked tilapia. Very nice combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin or Butternut Squash Tian

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.5
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    72%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 7.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 275.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes