10 Reviews

I was told from my daughters boyfriend this was the best cupcake he has ever had! I did find that the icing recipe could be cut in half. As someone who loves pumpkin anything this is a great recipe. My husband also loved these cupcakes and normally doesn't like pumpkin treats because they often have to much spice used in them. All around sucess in my household!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KSheets715 October 09, 2012

My girls and I liked these, but DH and DS were not convinced. I think it was because they were more dense than they would have liked for a cupcake. Other than that the flavor was good, they baked well and the icing was YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajean September 01, 2011

AMAZING!! I omitted the flour, and used whole wheat flour instead. I also used pumpkin pie mix, since it's what I had on hand. Finally, to be a tad healthier, I used 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar. For the frosting, I had to add about 1/2 lb more confectioner's sugar to make it thick enough to pipe, and for fun, I added orange gel food coloring to a portion of the icing to make it more festive!! a little sprinkle of cinnamon on top, and they were fabulous!!! I had no issues with them cooking through, and the consistency was very cupcake-like. these were like mini pumpkin rolls! Everyone that had one LOVED it!! (I also omitted fruits, because I personally like a smoother texture) :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aconomon November 21, 2010

These are good and have a nice texture. As written I thought the batter a bit bland and added 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t ginger and cloves along with a pinch of salt, and still thought they could use more. Because I was taking these to an event I left out the nuts and dates. The frosting was a nice compliment to the cakes of which I only got 21, so I cut the frosting recipe down (except for 2 t vanilla) to 3/4 which made plenty. I frosted pretty generously and still had about 1/2 cup left over. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet October 04, 2009

Turned out more muffiny for me but that is quite alright since they were a big hit. I make the listed cream cheese frosting for other dishes too since it is simple and not too sweet (I don't usually like icing).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jakedrake84 February 23, 2009

These are AMAZING. Best pumpkin sweet ever. I used all whole wheat flour, homemade pumpkin puree, lots of spices (left out the nuts and dates), and halved the sugar -- they really only need 1 cup. With frosting, these were over the top! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Celantiis November 01, 2008

I ve had better looking muffins (my first batch looks flat,very brown (not burned)and wrinkled)but just my favourite carrot muffins(one of those 300 five stars in recipezaar)taste as good as these. Super fluffy and moist,great taste,only they dont raise much,so in the last batch I filled them almost to the border and put them in the oven ,middle-lower rack,at 270F,then increased till 350...and they raised more... Well,DELICIOUS and I havent made the frosting yet...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesa de fresa September 30, 2008

Fabulous!! Everything was wonderful about these cupcakes - flavour, texture, aroma, presentation. Be sure to use a large bowl! I used the dates & pecans and served at Sewing Circle. Those that tried a cupcake LOVED it - but the dates were scaring people away - who knew people were afraid of dates?? LOL!! I didn't have any problem getting these to cook through. I did get 30 large cupcakes out of the batter. My kitchen scale is broken (okay, I dropped it on the floor & wrecked it) so I used 2 cups of icing sugar in the frosting & was very pleased with the results. I generously frosted all 30 of my cupcakes & probably had enough frosting left over to do another dozen or so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb June 12, 2008

WOW!!! I admit that I, like anyone else, felt a twang of trepidation preparing a recipe with only one review and that was one star. Well, I have to say that these cupcakes are dead on in the instructions, and baked perfectly. But even more surprising than that is the texture of these cupcakes. I am so used to the texture of pumpkin bread, yet these cupcakes are so light and delightful that I prefer them over pumpkin bread. I hope everyone tries this recipe, because it certainly a winner in my book, and batted a home run. Thanks for sharing!!!! ~Lorie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau April 27, 2008

would not cook through

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
richcirak March 10, 2008
Pumpkin Cupcakes With Cream Cheese Frosting