Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Parsley, Garlic, & Scallion Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Parsley, Garlic, & Scallion Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 20, 2012

      Made for Zaar World Tour 8. Yummy yummy! I used some duck fat in place of the butter since I had it sitting around and thought it would be in theme. My housemates devoured these in a flash and were asking for more, guess I better save this one and enjoy all over again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      We did enjoy this mash but unfortunately I couldn't add the parsley as I was about to go out to pick it from the herb garden and it came bucketing down in rain so had to omit but overall still a very nice mash, thank you Rita~, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      Great flavorful mashed potatoes!!! I made this as written but in a scaled back version for the two of us. I made these to served with our roasted chicken quarters, which I made a gravy from the leftover fats and served this over the potatoes, so I didn't have any problem with this note being salty enough. Thanks for sharing the recipe for a great comfort dish. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      I think this dish has a lot of potential, BUT What kind of potato do you use?? Red, New Potato ?? I'm sure I'll will be make it again. Before attempting this again, I'll have to figure out what seasonings to use, by reading all of the review, and see that will work for others, and than for me, to make it more flavorful or lot better for me to do.I paid attention to the other reviews and added my own twist to it. I agree with some of the other reviews. You could modify this recipe to any style. It got potential !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      Wow Rita~ Wow. These are the best mashed potatoes that I have ever made. Love the ratio of milk, butter and cheese, it was perfect. The garlic and green onions are the topping on the cake for me. I didn't have any parsley and didn't miss it in this lovely dish. I seasoned the potatoes with coarse sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. So much flavor and the texture was great. I will be making these often. Kudos on making it into my Favorites Cookbook for 2012. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT-8 - Great Britian

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Yummy!! I halved the recipe and used it on top of Shepherd's Pie - I could probably eat a whole pot , in my jammies, in the middle of winter! Made for ZWT 8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I used this as side dish and all loved it.
      I did not add butter (even if I know that I would love it, I used little more milk instead) to avoid more calories and animal fats, but the recipe is soo good, that nobody missed it!
      Thanks a lot for thei great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I have made these twice and have forgotten to review them. These are my go-to holiday potatoes. I made them with roast lamb this Easter and my nephew commented that they were better than his mom's "cheesy potato" casserole (Yuk! Greasy!) The second time I made these I subbed sauteed leek for the green onion (the white part only cut thin and fine) and snuck in some sour cream that needed to be used up, and it was fantastic. I made these the night before and heated them in the microwave before serving. This dish not only tastes wonderful, it also makes a good presentation - so pretty! And to all the reviewers who complained that it wasn't salty enough: Don't you ever taste your food before you serve it? Just add more salt and give it the 5 stars it deserves. This recipe is easy, economical and delicious. 5 stars for sure -- thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Yum! I loved the cream cheese and I did use heavy whipping cream in place of the milk. These went over HUGE at our Father's Day dinner! Served with peas and steak! I used a combo of white pepper and black pepper that worked out well, we also used more pepper than called for because we like it a lot! Made for The Queens of Quisine ZWT6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Yum! What a decadent, delicious way to serve mashed potatoes. Loved the flavor from the garlic and scallion especially. This was a very enjoyable side to grilled ribs at my BBQ today. It also looked pretty sitting in the bowl. Thanks, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      So good and lighter than my usual cream cheese potatoes. They look gorgeous with the green scattered throughout. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Made for ZWT - Xtra Hot Dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Yum, yum, creamy, buttery & oniony, just how I like my spuds, will make these again, thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I omitted the scallions and added about twice the butter and twice the cream cheese. I used heavy cream instead of milk and used garlic salt. It's a good base recipe to jump off from and add your own ingredients...like parmesan cheese too! The stay soft even after being refridgerated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      ***Warning***I cook "lactose-free" so I made changes!!!! These were our Thanksgiving potatoes! I can't have dairy but I easily made substitutions that made for decadent and delicious mashed potatoes! I kept the measurements the same but I used "soy" cream cheese, smart balance and "rice" milk. I added a heaping TBSP of soy sour cream (because rice milk has very little body, and soy cream cheese is not as wet as dairy cream cheese). Hopefully Lactose-free cooks will try this! Sometimes dairy-free products are too sweet or nutty, but the freshness of the parsley and scallions made these potatoes so yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I love onions and they were great in these mashed potatoes!! These were so good!! Thank you very much for a great recipe for something a little bit different from the ordinary mashed potatoes we normally eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Rita is sooo right. Comfort food to the max. Had these with country pork ribs and gravy and there wasn't ANY left and usually I have mashed potatoes left for the next meal. My family adored them, even my ten year old who gripes at anything "weird" looking (meaning the greenish tint to these... which is cool looking btw :-) ) Thanks Rita!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      I loved it, but the main comment I had from my husband was that it wasn't salty enough. One of my girls could have done without the parsley - but I thought it added flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Very good and very pretty. It did need a lot more salt than I would have expected with all those herbs but it was really good. I cut the recipe in half and it still made a huge amount. Anyone would like this and it makes a very attractive side dish, looks just like in the pictures!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      MMMMM! These are a great change from plain old mashed! DH wanted the onions softer and not crunchy- whatever! This is fantastic and the leftovers are gonna be great as potato pancakes! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      These went well with our sausages, Sticky Onion Marmalade Sausages for dinner. I scaled it back to serve the two of us and it worked fine. Another 'keeper' in my book. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Parsley, Garlic, & Scallion Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.3
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    39%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 145.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites