21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made for Zaar World Tour 8. Yummy yummy! I used some duck fat in place of the butter since I had it sitting around and thought it would be in theme. My housemates devoured these in a flash and were asking for more, guess I better save this one and enjoy all over again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne August 20, 2012

We did enjoy this mash but unfortunately I couldn't add the parsley as I was about to go out to pick it from the herb garden and it came bucketing down in rain so had to omit but overall still a very nice mash, thank you Rita~, made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 06, 2013

Great flavorful mashed potatoes!!! I made this as written but in a scaled back version for the two of us. I made these to served with our roasted chicken quarters, which I made a gravy from the leftover fats and served this over the potatoes, so I didn't have any problem with this note being salty enough. Thanks for sharing the recipe for a great comfort dish. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 September 02, 2012

I think this dish has a lot of potential, BUT What kind of potato do you use?? Red, New Potato ?? I'm sure I'll will be make it again. Before attempting this again, I'll have to figure out what seasonings to use, by reading all of the review, and see that will work for others, and than for me, to make it more flavorful or lot better for me to do.I paid attention to the other reviews and added my own twist to it. I agree with some of the other reviews. You could modify this recipe to any style. It got potential !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA August 21, 2012

Wow Rita~ Wow. These are the best mashed potatoes that I have ever made. Love the ratio of milk, butter and cheese, it was perfect. The garlic and green onions are the topping on the cake for me. I didn't have any parsley and didn't miss it in this lovely dish. I seasoned the potatoes with coarse sea salt and fresh ground black pepper. So much flavor and the texture was great. I will be making these often. Kudos on making it into my Favorites Cookbook for 2012. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT-8 - Great Britian

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 21, 2012

Yummy!! I halved the recipe and used it on top of Shepherd's Pie - I could probably eat a whole pot , in my jammies, in the middle of winter! Made for ZWT 8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl August 20, 2012

I used this as side dish and all loved it.
I did not add butter (even if I know that I would love it, I used little more milk instead) to avoid more calories and animal fats, but the recipe is soo good, that nobody missed it!
Thanks a lot for thei great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde August 18, 2012

I have made these twice and have forgotten to review them. These are my go-to holiday potatoes. I made them with roast lamb this Easter and my nephew commented that they were better than his mom's "cheesy potato" casserole (Yuk! Greasy!) The second time I made these I subbed sauteed leek for the green onion (the white part only cut thin and fine) and snuck in some sour cream that needed to be used up, and it was fantastic. I made these the night before and heated them in the microwave before serving. This dish not only tastes wonderful, it also makes a good presentation - so pretty! And to all the reviewers who complained that it wasn't salty enough: Don't you ever taste your food before you serve it? Just add more salt and give it the 5 stars it deserves. This recipe is easy, economical and delicious. 5 stars for sure -- thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Farina April 26, 2011

Yum! I loved the cream cheese and I did use heavy whipping cream in place of the milk. These went over HUGE at our Father's Day dinner! Served with peas and steak! I used a combo of white pepper and black pepper that worked out well, we also used more pepper than called for because we like it a lot! Made for The Queens of Quisine ZWT6!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~SarahBeth~ June 21, 2010

Yum! What a decadent, delicious way to serve mashed potatoes. Loved the flavor from the garlic and scallion especially. This was a very enjoyable side to grilled ribs at my BBQ today. It also looked pretty sitting in the bowl. Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 21, 2010
Parsley, Garlic, & Scallion Mashed Potatoes