Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Moms Yellow Squash Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moms Yellow Squash Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2013

      Very good casserole. I gave this recipe a trial run tonight before Thanksgiving. I enjoyed the ease of the recipe and will be using this one for Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I gave this recipe 3 stars. My family gave me mixed reviews on this recipe. Both my newphews 5 & 6 yrs old didn't like this recipe. My future hubby said this was excellant! I thought this was good. I made some changes to the recipe but I don't think this hurt the flavor. I used 2 small yellow squash. Turkey stuffing as that's what I had on hand. I used cheddar cheese again as that's what I had on hand. My only complaint was my onions were not cooked, so In think I'll saute them first next time. Over all this was good and I'll make it again. Thank for posting! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      I make this all the time and we absolutely love it. This is a very forgiving recipe. You can use whatever flavor of cream soup is in your pantry. I've used cream of celery and cream of chicken with equally good results. I also don't even bother to measure the cheese and onion. I do saute the onion in a little butter before adding it to the casserole. My family also prefers the cornbread stuffing mix in this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      This was delicious! When I was in college in the South, Sunday dinners would consist of Summer Squash Casserole and I've been trying to find a recipe for it -- this is better than the college one! I think the Stove Top Stuffing adds a lot of flavor. I added Tony Cachere's seasoning and it made it even better. In order for my husband and stepson to taste it I had to call it Vegetable Casserole. My husband liked it (he hates squash) but my step son said it was one of the best things he had eaten and I said -- "You mean in this meal" and he said, "No -- ever." That was a great compliment!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      OOOO this is soooo good! It is also very quick and easy to make! I used shredded sharp cheddar instead of the four cheese mexican blend because that was all I had on hand and it still turned out delicious. I will definitely make it again!!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      Oh this is comfort food! I sauted the squash and onion and left it in chunks but otherwise followed the posted recipe. I could eat just this for dinner. Yummy stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This was a good recipe. It was simple and filling. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      We had a guest for dinner tonight, and he wanted seconds on this. I found the sour cream to be either too strong or out of place in the dish. I would definitely try it again without the sour cream. Thanks Angela!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      This was fairly good. I followed the directions, but I think it could use quite a bit of salt and pepper, and maybe less sour cream. Also, I think maybe a little more squash and a bit more onion (I used half of a large onion). I warmed it over after 3-4 days, and it was a little better. I might try cream of chicken soup the next time also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      We enjoyed this very much. I sauted the squash and onion in a half a stick of butter, and didn't mash it up or drain it. I used swiss cheese because that is what I had on hand. Makes a lot, we will have some leftovers to go with dinner tomorrow night. Thanks Ang, for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      My family liked this, but we prefer a more traditional squash casserole -- the kind with ritz crackers. If you like the taste of boxed stuffing, try this. You'll like it. But, I am not a real fan of stove top and that's all I could taste. I was really hoping this would be great since it can easily be "lightened up" with reduced fat soup, cheese, and sour cream and then have much less fat than traditional Southern squash casserole. Moms: If you're looking for a way to hide veggies -- this would work. I think it would work for other veggies as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This is the squash casserole I always make, and it is beyond yummy. I actually eat it cold right out of the fridge if there is any leftover.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moms Yellow Squash Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (318 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 556.0
     
    Calories from Fat 301
    54%
    Total Fat 33.4 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 18.5 g
    92%
    Cholesterol 80.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1713.9 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes