12 Reviews

Very good casserole. I gave this recipe a trial run tonight before Thanksgiving. I enjoyed the ease of the recipe and will be using this one for Thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBaton November 03, 2013

I gave this recipe 3 stars. My family gave me mixed reviews on this recipe. Both my newphews 5 & 6 yrs old didn't like this recipe. My future hubby said this was excellant! I thought this was good. I made some changes to the recipe but I don't think this hurt the flavor. I used 2 small yellow squash. Turkey stuffing as that's what I had on hand. I used cheddar cheese again as that's what I had on hand. My only complaint was my onions were not cooked, so In think I'll saute them first next time. Over all this was good and I'll make it again. Thank for posting! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut September 16, 2009

I make this all the time and we absolutely love it. This is a very forgiving recipe. You can use whatever flavor of cream soup is in your pantry. I've used cream of celery and cream of chicken with equally good results. I also don't even bother to measure the cheese and onion. I do saute the onion in a little butter before adding it to the casserole. My family also prefers the cornbread stuffing mix in this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie in TX September 05, 2009

This was delicious! When I was in college in the South, Sunday dinners would consist of Summer Squash Casserole and I've been trying to find a recipe for it -- this is better than the college one! I think the Stove Top Stuffing adds a lot of flavor. I added Tony Cachere's seasoning and it made it even better. In order for my husband and stepson to taste it I had to call it Vegetable Casserole. My husband liked it (he hates squash) but my step son said it was one of the best things he had eaten and I said -- "You mean in this meal" and he said, "No -- ever." That was a great compliment!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PurseonalEffects July 06, 2009

OOOO this is soooo good! It is also very quick and easy to make! I used shredded sharp cheddar instead of the four cheese mexican blend because that was all I had on hand and it still turned out delicious. I will definitely make it again!!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmo's Mom June 09, 2009

Oh this is comfort food! I sauted the squash and onion and left it in chunks but otherwise followed the posted recipe. I could eat just this for dinner. Yummy stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alisa Lea March 30, 2008

This was a good recipe. It was simple and filling. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon 24 January 19, 2008

We had a guest for dinner tonight, and he wanted seconds on this. I found the sour cream to be either too strong or out of place in the dish. I would definitely try it again without the sour cream. Thanks Angela!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup October 04, 2007

This was fairly good. I followed the directions, but I think it could use quite a bit of salt and pepper, and maybe less sour cream. Also, I think maybe a little more squash and a bit more onion (I used half of a large onion). I warmed it over after 3-4 days, and it was a little better. I might try cream of chicken soup the next time also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ August 12, 2007

We enjoyed this very much. I sauted the squash and onion in a half a stick of butter, and didn't mash it up or drain it. I used swiss cheese because that is what I had on hand. Makes a lot, we will have some leftovers to go with dinner tomorrow night. Thanks Ang, for sharing this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NC Gal June 19, 2007
Moms Yellow Squash Casserole