Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Mashed White/Sweet Potato Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mashed White/Sweet Potato Bake

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2013

      Love the flavor mixture and the family enjoyed the potatoes. Mine was a bit dry when mashing and so I added some milk. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      In one word...WOW!! The entire family praised the dish during holiday meals. The more cheese, the merrier :-)!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      YUM! I used plain cream cheese and halved the amount, and still found it to be very tasty. I paired this with the, Yes, Virginia there is a great meatloaf! and the family loved it! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      ok wow this is amazing . i was wary of adding cheddar to sweet potato , dont be it rocks . used just plain cream cheese everyone should try this , it would be great for pot luck...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Very tasty dish, we loved the combination of sweet & white pototoe. The only problem I had with this recipe was deciding how many/much potatoes to use being that a large potatoe can vary greatly. Based on weight, for 4-5 servings, I used about 1 lb of white & 1/2 lb of sweet and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. I didn't have sour cream so I used yogurt instead which we are used to anyhow. My cream cheese was regular style & it worked ok too. There was plently of flavour & easy to make, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Wow..... gret recipe! Loved this recipe. First time sweet potato has been served to this family and we all loved it. Great flavours with the cheese and sour cream. Will be making rhis one again. Mom2Rose thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This dish was rather easy to make with the simple directions given. I placed it in a clear glass oven dish and all the layers could be seen. It was a treat both visually and tastefully. My family really enjoyed the potatoes, the kids liked the cheese the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      This is a delightful and attractive mashed potato casserole. I was concerned that the sweet potatoes wouldn't mix with the cheese and savory flavorings, but it held its own and was a lovely and colorful addition. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Best mashed potato dish I have ever eaten - and I'm an absolute potato worshipper! Used more`sour cream and parmesan than suggested and added a potato spice mix to the`white potato. Our local (South African) sweet potatoes are white(yellowish)- I imagine the American? orange/pink sweet poato/yam wuold make a very colourful layered dish, so next time I'm going to try triple layer - third layer being mashed butternut which is very plentiful and economical here prepared in local fashion with butter and a littlenutmeg or cinnamon - can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I made this for Thanksgiving to avoid the high sugar typical sweet potatoe dish. I have to say it was pretty good. All comments noted they liked the change in potato dish. However, most noted that that you couldn't really taste the sweet potato. I think if I made it next time I would use 3 sweet and 2 white potatoes. That is also because I do not like white very much nor the high gylcemic index of it either. I think this is a great dish if you are looking for something different. Oh, I also added way mroe cheese than suggested - what can I say, I love cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Thank you Tish. I made this last year as well, then lost the recipe when I moved. My boyfriend insists on having it again this year. I was really worried I wouldn't be able to find the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Great recipe!! Wonderful addition to the holiday menu!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      This was made for a potluck about a month ago, & although I thought the recipe was great, others at the gathering gave it OUTSTANDING RAVES, so I'm rating this a 5-STAR recipe!! Who am I to argue the point! I like sweet potatoes & yams, & this was a great way to include mashed potatoes, & give it all a new twist with the cheeses! I will admit, though, that I used a box of roasted garlic instant potatoes! Still a great recipe, & I'm glad to see it here [was ready to post it myself!].

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I did this last Christmas and forgot to bookmark it. I've been frantically looking for this recipe to have it again this Christmas. Fortunately I finally found it. It was SO good and the guests loved it. Heavenly!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      I was so looking forward to this for a new addition to my Thanksgiving feast. The unfortunate part is that no one at our table liked this. Apparently none of us are chive lovers, which I didn't know. So there was nothing wrong with the recipe- we just didn't like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      These were very good. I made half the recipe and followed the directions exactly. It would be a wonderful recipe for the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      I made this for Christmas with the ham and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it. The chives in the cream cheese is a wonderful touch. Thank you so much for posting. I will be making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Tish---This is "jazzier" than my mixed potato recipe. I like yours better. Reader: If you've never eaten mix and mash potatoes, you're in for a treat! Try this recipe; it's wonderful with an added bonus: Kids love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mashed White/Sweet Potato Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (93 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.8
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    52%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 25.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 262.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites