Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Kittencal's Hush Puppies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Hush Puppies

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2009

      Just tried these two nights ago; I usually have fried cornbread because since I left North Carolina, I can't seem to find a hush puppy recipe that is worth the effort. Until Now. This one is a "keeper". I only deviated from the exact recipe a wee bit. First, it should be noted that you cannot drop batter any larger than the teaspoonful Kittencal has specified; if you do, your hushpuppy will not get done in the middle. If you use the teaspoon(not a tsp. measuring spoon, but a tea-spoon size) to measure, they're perfect. ( They puff up). I omitted the cayenne and because I failed to read the recipe correctly, I did not chop the corn kernels, but since my results were perfect, I am never going to chop them. And finally, I did not have a 12 oz. can of corn. I had either 16 oz. or the small can which is 8 3/4 oz. I used the small one and as I said before, my hushpuppies were perfect!( By the way, I did not need more milk.) I also used a deep fryer and just rolled them over as they browned. I am so happy to finally have a "go to" recipe for hushpuppies. Thank you, Kittencal! I am a trusting fan of your recipes. As a footnote: I had some hushpuppies left over and they are delicious the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      They were delicious. I made them in my deep fryer and they didn't stay together very well so next time I'll make them in a frying pan instead. Even though they were a mess after coming out of the fryer, I didn't really care because they tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      When I made these, I decided to use up some of my self-rising flour, so I used that and reduced the baking powder by half. Turns out I should have omitted it altogether because when I began dropping the batter into the skillet, it puffed up really big! I was a little worried, but when I tasted them they were very fluffy and soft. It was definitely different than I was used to, but it was a very pleasant accident because they tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      I must say after trying the onion fritters, or should I say making a meal of the onion fritters, I was very excited about trying these. I ended up being a bit disappointed. I used my sister's home canned corn but other that that I followed the recipe exactly, they just were not as good as those out of the world onion patties. Maybe I'll try it again with frozen corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Kitten the fritters are just wonderful. I served these tonight with your Easy Pan Pork Chops & Mushrooms with gravy. These easy to make fritters are full of flavour and have great textures. I added cayenne pepper and some grated sweet onion. All I can say is WOW! The cayenne pepper added a lovely heat. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      As all your recipes are this is another outstanding one, I served these fritters with your Kittencal's Best Juicy Whole Roasted Chicken another wonderful recipe! thank you Kit

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      Fresh and tasty. Great side dish for seafood versus plain kernel or cob corn. Used frozen corn (think it tastes better).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      Thanks for telling me about these, Kitten. I tried them today before they stayed in the fridge the hour, and they were delicious. Shortly, I'll have them with leftover roast. They were quite "puffy". I sprinkled a little salt over them while they were on the paper towels. I used the half and half, and 3 tbs. of sugar. I wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      OOH! These were sooo good! We had these tonight with leftover pot roast. These made it seem like a whole new meal, not "leftovers". Thanks for sharing!I'll be making these again real soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      Carol, THESE ARE TO DIE FOR!!! I thought the onion patties were out of this world, so when I got this recipe I didn't know if it would be as good as those, BUT GIRLIE....these are fabulous!! I made a batch Saturday afternoon to serve with some pork chops and mashed potatoes. DH requested them again for lunch Sunday! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Hush Puppies

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.1
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    32%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 14.7 mg
    4%
    Sodium 99.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites