Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / King's Arms Tavern Cream of Peanut Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    King's Arms Tavern Cream of Peanut Soup

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2014

      AWESOME recipe!! I stuck to the recipe (but doubled it) and it turned out delicious. I made it for a cold-weather outdoor potluck after an equestrian event, and it was a huge hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      Yum!! Nice light peanut flavor. I prefer a more intense flavor, but might have ruined it so stuck to the main peanut flavor. A couple of tweaks. I use a butter flavored olive oil for healthier cooking. Also during the initial simmer I added a tsp garlic and a tsp of pepper flakes. I also used a little more thickener and milk instead of cream since I didn't have any on hand. Lastly, I added the juice of 1/2 lemon at the end to brighten it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      i expected this soup to have an overpowering peanut butter taste, but not at all! just rich, creamy, and satisfying - perfect for a cold night! i saw another peanut soup recipe on this site where a reviewer suggested the addition of cumin - i tried this and thought it really enhanced the flavors nicely, so give it a try!

      update: i just made this soup again, and this time added some lemon juice (a lot of traditional peanut soup recipes use lemon). it really helped to cut the strong flavor and fat of the peanut butter; i'll definitely use this addition from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Couldn't believe how fast I prepared this soup! Served it instead of salad and was a big hit with the family. I used an immersion blender to puree it and it came out just right. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      I was a little disappointed in this - it seemed to thin so I added more peanut butter, and that made it too sweet. I'll definitely eat it, but maybe because I halved the recipe I compromised some of the flavor?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I love peanut soup and I've had it at King's Arms Tavern. This recipe is good but it makes a ton. I suggest putting in only 1 quart of chicken broth and adding more, a little at a time, if you need to. I added more peanut butter to give it the consistency I like it. I put it through the blender a second time and then cooked it down. this made it really smooth and thickened it up. Great with breadsticks or croutons and a glass of red wine on a cold winter's night. Filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Wow, this is fantastic soup. Very unique indeed. Very satisfying. I used regular skim milk for the cream, olive oil for the butter and veggie stock for the chicken stock.A real treat for a meal! A lifelong keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Sounds icky ... Tastes wonderful! My wife is vegetarian, so I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. The broth melds perfectly with the peanut buttter so one doesn't overpower the other. I made it for her since she had it this summer at the King's Arms. Check out the Sally Lunn Bread recipe also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      This was my 1st experience with cream of peanut soup. It was good. I probably won't make it again but it was fun to try and at least now I can say that I've had cream of peanut soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2004

      I was going to post this, but will just review instead. :o) About every 10 years or so, I make it back to Williamsburg and always go to the King's Arms for their peanut soup. (I love that place so much I actually have a little framed photo of it as part of my kitchen decor!) I was a bit hesitant about trying to make my own at home, but this recipe is very simple and tastes just like the wonderful, rich flavor at the tavern. Would be great for a Colonial party or Thanksgiving soup. Definitely worth a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      Don't be put off by the sound of this recipie. It's out of this world delicious!! I'll be the first to admit it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for King's Arms Tavern Cream of Peanut Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.1
     
    Calories from Fat 358
    76%
    Total Fat 39.8 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 39.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 898.3 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites