Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Harvest Pear Crumb Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Harvest Pear Crumb Pie

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2003

      Pixiedust, This was my first time ever to make or even taste a pear pie.It was so good!! I loved the crispy topping !!! I had a fruit basket given to me at Christmas and it had pears in it,They were hard as a rock,so we were waiting for them to get ripe.I don't care for the grainy taste of fresh pears,but I like them cooked pretty good,so I decided to try this pie. Thanks for a great recipe,Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      This is a lovely pie!! Your instructions are clear and easy to follow. I have never made a pear pie before but will from now on. This really hit the spot for us. Thank you so much for sharing this. It is now in my "keeper" notebook. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I had made a Pear Pie many years ago and remembered how good it was so when I saw this recipe, I decided to make another one since I had lost my recipe. It was delicious. I made it just as the recipe said and nothing was added or taken away. It was wonderful!!! I won't lose this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      Excellent! I added 1 tablespoon each of honey and molasses. Easy and great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Hubby's birthday was coming up and the budget was tight. The main ingredient we had for pie was a large bag of pears so I went searching and decided on this recipe. I had expected to make it with firm pears but the pears were at perfect eating ripeness when I sliced into it. I still sliced them thin but the fruit in the pie was all soft like it had been made with applesauce so if I make it with ripe pears again I will cut them chunkier. The flavor was good. We ate it about 24 hrs later and the crumble had gotten soggy. I would recommend making it in the afternoon of the evening that you want to serve it. Time to cool enough to be sliceable but not time to get soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This was a great pie! I had about 10 Bartlett pears that ripened all at the same time-so I needed to make something. This pie was light, and not too sweet. The topping was my husband's favorite part! I will definitely make this again, it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      This pie was AWESOME! I thought it did taste a lot like an apple pie but man what a great way to use extra pears. We used Bartletts that were a bit under ripe and there was no graininess or anything. T

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      This was delicious! It came out perfect. The pears were not mushy, but nice and firm. I had never heard of pear pie before I made this, and was very curious to see what one would taste like. I admit I was a little disappointed that it tasted a lot like apple pie, albeit a very good apple pie. I made it for a church dinner, and it was a hit. One lady, who told me pear pie was her favorite, complimented me on it. When I confided that I was a little disappointed it tasted like apple, she laughed and said, "Yes, only better!". I think she's right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I followed the instructions and measurements exactly and my pie came out really soupy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Wow! I just made this with some Asian pears. Absolutely perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      A friend gave me so many pears and I had to find as many recipes to use them up before they got too ripe. I had never heard of Pear Pie before so thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It was delicious and so easy to make. I used the Homemade Pie Crust Recipe ( #13619) and I think it goes very well together because the crust is not sweet. I ended up using 5 pears to get the 6 cups called for. I also used whole wheat pastry flour in the topping and it still came out yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      My SO's cousin gave me alot of pears and I came to "ZAAR" to do a search for pie and came across this one.So I decided to try it and I'm so glad I did.The wonderful smell of it cooling off was just about enough to make me want take that first bite and burn my mouth ( I'm sure everyone has had that feeling when something smells that good )After waiting for it to get cooled off enough to eat a piece.The first bite was exactly what you want a pie to taste like " Wonderful ".The blends of all the ingredients came all together to make a pie that will be enjoyed time and time again. Thank you for posting and "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      This was the first pear pie I've ever made, and was very pleased. The ginger and nutmeg are a nice warm blend of spices for this. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      The church that I attend has started a pie night for women once a month. For the first pie night, I made this pie, back in September, sorry for the delay in posting. all the ladies were so intrigued with pear pie, no one had even heard of it. One lady in particular loved it and took home half of the pie and the recipe and left me with one piece for my husband. Every year I get a bushel of pears to can and I will be making this once a year for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This is delicious!! Made the filling as directed, added some toasted coconut to the topping. Smells yummy baking and taste yummy after it bakes. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      The most wonderful tasting pie I have ever had. Flavors blended so well. Not to sweet at all, just perfect. Thanks for posting this tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      What else needs to be said about this pie?? Its wonderful and will become a regular based on my families comments. Everyone loved it, I took this along with an apple pie and this was the hit of the evening. Thank you for posting this wonderful easy recipe. TIP:: cover the edges of the crust, mine became very dark even with the guards on the crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2005

      Excellent Pie! Made it for my extended family and it was gone....lickity split! Sliced up perfectly...not too much juice, not dry either. The pears were not overly soft when cooked per the instructions and the topping was "just right" (crispy and sweet). Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      What a nice pie! I've never had (or heard of) pear pie, but I'm a believer after giving this recipe a try! Great texture, great spices, and my favorite: crumb topping! Thanks for a winner of a recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This is a delicious pie. I only had 4 cups of pears so I added two cups of sliced granny smith apples and some dried cranberries. We like cinnamon in my house so I put on extra. I also put the topping on right away and only cooked the pie for 30 minutes. This worked out great. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Harvest Pear Crumb Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.7
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    39%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 235.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 34.0 g
    136%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites