Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / German Apple Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    German Apple Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2008

      Oh, my ma always made this recipe when I was growing up, and everyone raved about it! The only thing I do differently is leave out the nuts... sorry, I'm just not a fan, lol! Also, the frosting recipe my mom gave me uses half the amounts of cream cheese and frosting, but 2 Tbs. butter and 1 tsp. vanilla. Ahhh, this is what you call comfort food :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Superb cake! I had gotten almost this exact same recipe from a dear friend of mine at church. I have altered to 1/2 c. vegetable oil and 1/2 c. apple sauce. I usually don't put in pecans as my daughter doesn't like nuts. The cream cheese mixture I have is different with 4 T. butter. Yum, yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      What a wonderful moist and delicious cake! The only change I made was to cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (instead of 2), since I used Courtland apples and they're really not too tart! It took one hour to bake in my oven. The cream cheese frosting really finished it off! Thanks for sharing this great cake recipe, keen5! I'll certainly be making it often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2014

      I have been making this recipe for 40 yrs. It was originally given to me by a wonder woman that babysat my Son. We moved last year and I lost the recipe in the move. Everywhere I take this it wipe out. My heart jumped when I found the recipe on Allfoods.com. Now it has been shared with many.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Did you get this out of a school's recipe book? Looks like the one my mom and I submitted to FoxMill. Nice to see it running around, I use apple sauce in place of oil. NO NUTS, and it turns out YUM!!! Enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Great cake, I reduced the sugar in the cake by 1/2 c (we don't like it overly sweet). Also cut the cream cheese topping to half & added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and spread on the cake while it was hot. Thanks for the post, this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      My regular "brownie" broke the day before I made this so I used a sheet pan and baked it for 20 minutes. My son is currently eating his third peice! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Very good cake. So nice and moist. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      Fantastic!! Baked with 1/2 tsp cardamom in addition to cinnamon. Also subbed 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup oil. Just wonderful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      A wonderful recipe that gives a big, moist, flavourful cake! I mixed in some walnuts because I didn't have enough pecans at hand, but this allowed me to come up with a secret ingredient: a dash (or two) of walnut oil in the cake as well as in the frosting gives this cake an interesting touch ;)I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting Keen5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      I have a recipe just like this except mine uses 1 cup of chopped nuts. This is easy to make and stays moist for days. It is really wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for German Apple Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (130 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 602.2
     
    Calories from Fat 284
    47%
    Total Fat 31.6 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 287.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.1 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 58.1 g
    232%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites