Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Cashew Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Cashew Gravy

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2010

      Defrickinlicious!!! love, love, loved it! I am trying to be vegan 5 days a week, and could make this every week. The gravy recipe could be halved or quartered, it makes too much, unless you are saving some to eat with your Thanksgiving turkey, but that's not vegan is it? lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      These potatoes were lovely and fluffy. I doubled the recipe, but didn't double the soymilk entirely. Made the day before and was able to just reheat about 90 minutes before dinner. There was no discussion at the dinner table about them being vegan or not, and the serving dish was scraped clean. The gravy was tasty too. Thanks Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Very good potatoes. My girlfriend is vegan so my goal was to make Thanksgiving for 8 vegan (without the others knowing it was vegan!) and this was very sucessful. I couldn't believe how creamy they were from the soy. The gravy was just ok, but I did not use the nutritional yeast so I didn't follow the recipe exactly. (Edited to add an extra star a year later- Made just the potatoes again for Thanksgiving and they were FANTASTIC!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      ate myself sick and then just had to go back for seconds here. So good. Measurements were perfect. I only used 5 T of soy in the gravy as we had a guest with sodium issues and it was still delicious! Anything with 13 cloves of garlic can't be wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Just finished Thanksgiving dinner and these potatoes and gravy were fantastic! Everyone raved about the gravy. (Mashed potatoes were delish too -- couldn't tell they didn't use cow's milk.) The gravy makes a lot -- about 5 cups. The directions were a little confusing. I used the nutritional yeast in the gravy (mixed in with the flour and cashews) not in the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      when i made this, i doubled both recipes to ensure there was enough for the whole family. there was tons of extra gravy, so i would recommend just doing one batch of that if you need to double. i used redskin potatoes and didn't peel them. everyone (vegan and non) raved about the potatoes and gravy. i have frozen the extra gravy, so i will be enjoying this for a while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      The gravy was amazing. I cooked a vegan thanksgiving dinner for myself and 2 vegetarian friends to eat along with the "meat eaters" thanksgiving dinner. I didn't make the potatoes since I was already making mashed yams, but I needed a gravy to go along with a lentil loaf I made for the entree. The gravy is so yummy and thick and wonderful. Make sure you use the "optional" nutritional yeast because it really adds something to the flavor. Even the carnivores were hitting up my vegan gravy bowl rather than the traditional turkey gravy! this one is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      The gravy is just amazing! The potatoes are great too, but I would say the best part of this recipe is the sensational gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2003

      Yummy! The gravy is very flavorful and goes so well with the mashed potatoes. My husband even enjoyed this! (seeing as he's a "steak & potatoes" kinda guy, and not much into anything with soy, nutritional yeast, etc., this is a small miracle!) I used half tamari and half Braggs Liquid Aminos. Am I undecisive or what? Carol, this recipe is going on my next Thanksgiving menu... finally, a mashed potato & gravy recipe I can truly enjoy and feel good about eating, too!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      This was great! I've never made mashed potatoes with soy milk before but this was really good. Very nice and creamy - I didn't think it was lacking anything from the absence of cow's milk. The cashews were a nice addition to the gravy as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      Really creamy and rich. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Cashew Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 447.9
     
    Calories from Fat 261
    58%
    Total Fat 29.0 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 994.0 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian chicken broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes