9 Reviews

This was very good with butter and honey. I wouldn't leave out the caraway seed, because I think it's what made me really enjoy this recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie February 10, 2010

Very tasty (I love caraway seeds). We served it with lots of honey. Mine was shaped funny, though, not like in the picture shown. I don't know enough about making bread to know what I did wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Da Huz February 11, 2009

This was really good. I made it in a very heavy stainless steel skillet, as I don't have a cast iron one, but it worked like a charm. I wasn't sure what to expect with the bread, but it came out resembling a very good beer bread, without the beer. :) It was dense, but not heavy, and all of the butter got soaked up as it cooled - yum! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout July 12, 2008

TERRIFIC! I LOVE barley flour...so was very happy to discover this recipe. I made it as directed but in my 10" cast iron skillet so only baked it for 40 minutes. I did use the caraway seed. It has a lovely heavy texture kinda cookieish. I thought it was great on its own and with butter and honey. YUM! Made for the ZWT4- Jefes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed July 07, 2008

This was good & very filling! A nice easy recipe. I used 2TB of the melted butter instead of oil & had plenty to coat the pan & pour on top. I omitted the caraway (can't stand the stuff). I also needed to add more buttermilk & wonder if it got overmixed & would have been lighter otherwise? Everyone enjoyed this & it will be finished for breakfast! Made for EE Breads, ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo June 16, 2008

An easy and tasty bread for breakfast or dinner. The texture is light, but has a nice whole grain taste, with a crunchy, buttery crust. I omitted the caraway seeds. For me, the batter consistency was perfect as written. (Perhaps there are different grinds of barley flour?) I would use only 3 tbl of butter next time; I had excess for oiling the pan and flavoring the top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
realbirdlady June 16, 2008

I followed the previous 2 reviewers with recipe & added a bit more buttermilk, but then I ended up having to add a little more flour to bring it back in line with what I thought it sould be! Loved the addition of caraway seeds & the bread is very tasty! Certainly something I'd by happy to make again! [Made & reviewed while on tour in Eastern Europe with Zaar's World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 15, 2008

I made this bread for ZWT 4. I did leave out the seeds because I didn't have any but it was good anyways. Oh, I forgot... I also had to add a little more buttermilk to the batter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh June 11, 2008

This is good! I made one small substitution, in that I could not find caraway seeds anywhere, so I used some fennel seeds I had in the spice rack. I recommend it with the seeds! They added a nice little bite. I had mine with butter and honey, and it was such a treat. I think it would make a great breakfast. Only one little tiny suggestion for future cooks with this recipe; I had to add a little more buttermilk than the recipe called for to get the dough spreadable. Otherwise, it's perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyDuckie June 07, 2008
Estonian Barley Skillet Bread