Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Estonian Barley Skillet Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Estonian Barley Skillet Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2010

      This was very good with butter and honey. I wouldn't leave out the caraway seed, because I think it's what made me really enjoy this recipe. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Very tasty (I love caraway seeds). We served it with lots of honey. Mine was shaped funny, though, not like in the picture shown. I don't know enough about making bread to know what I did wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      This was really good. I made it in a very heavy stainless steel skillet, as I don't have a cast iron one, but it worked like a charm. I wasn't sure what to expect with the bread, but it came out resembling a very good beer bread, without the beer. :) It was dense, but not heavy, and all of the butter got soaked up as it cooled - yum! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      TERRIFIC! I LOVE barley flour...so was very happy to discover this recipe. I made it as directed but in my 10" cast iron skillet so only baked it for 40 minutes. I did use the caraway seed. It has a lovely heavy texture kinda cookieish. I thought it was great on its own and with butter and honey. YUM! Made for the ZWT4- Jefes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This was good & very filling! A nice easy recipe. I used 2TB of the melted butter instead of oil & had plenty to coat the pan & pour on top. I omitted the caraway (can't stand the stuff). I also needed to add more buttermilk & wonder if it got overmixed & would have been lighter otherwise? Everyone enjoyed this & it will be finished for breakfast! Made for EE Breads, ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      An easy and tasty bread for breakfast or dinner. The texture is light, but has a nice whole grain taste, with a crunchy, buttery crust. I omitted the caraway seeds. For me, the batter consistency was perfect as written. (Perhaps there are different grinds of barley flour?) I would use only 3 tbl of butter next time; I had excess for oiling the pan and flavoring the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I followed the previous 2 reviewers with recipe & added a bit more buttermilk, but then I ended up having to add a little more flour to bring it back in line with what I thought it sould be! Loved the addition of caraway seeds & the bread is very tasty! Certainly something I'd by happy to make again! [Made & reviewed while on tour in Eastern Europe with Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I made this bread for ZWT 4. I did leave out the seeds because I didn't have any but it was good anyways. Oh, I forgot... I also had to add a little more buttermilk to the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This is good! I made one small substitution, in that I could not find caraway seeds anywhere, so I used some fennel seeds I had in the spice rack. I recommend it with the seeds! They added a nice little bite. I had mine with butter and honey, and it was such a treat. I think it would make a great breakfast. Only one little tiny suggestion for future cooks with this recipe; I had to add a little more buttermilk than the recipe called for to get the dough spreadable. Otherwise, it's perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Estonian Barley Skillet Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 342.2
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    37%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 57.2 mg
    19%
    Sodium 283.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes