14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a fun recipe. I added a little heavy cream to the mixture and made enough to fill a souffle dish so increased the amount of Gruyere cheese. This was very good. Next time I will use Machego cheese and add to ramekin dishes. Very elegant, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss_treated1 November 28, 2008

Excellent recipe and flavor! Was excited to see it "puff up" in the oven, too! I cut the recipe in half and made them in individual ramekin dishes...it made 4. Is great to pack in lunches and re-heats pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollymustang June 26, 2007

I made this today for an early Easter dinner side dish. I messed up on a few ingrediants... I forgot to add the baking powder and had only purchased an 8 oz package of mushrooms. But everyone still loved them. They didn't quite puff as beautifully as they did in the above picture, but I'm sure that's due to my error. They also need to cook longer than what the recipe indicated by 10-15 minutes more. I would definately try them again, and many people asked for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kline77 April 07, 2007

Fantastic. Made it to serve with a Prime Rib. Added Gruyere cheese and made it a couple of hours before dinner. Cooked in in a pyrex bowl and also shredded the cheese over the top. It made a beautiful presentation and all of my guests loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon777 December 28, 2006

I made this to rave reviews. It was pretty and simple. I will be making this again and experimenting with different cheeses. It was fantastic with gouda. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon December 22, 2006

Wow. I took advantage of the other reviewers' comments and used smoked gouda, adding some over the mushroom layer as well as mixed into the potatoes. I did prepare mine in the morning, covered it with plastic wrap and left it at room temperature until it was baked about 5 hours later. Apparently that was too long as the baking powder didn't activate and the potatoes never really "puffed." No matter, no one knew any differently, it was still gorgeous and the taste and texture was out-of-this-world good. My recommendation is to make more than you think you'll need because this is going to be one popular dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea December 28, 2005

This was so easy to make and looks beautiful when it comes from the oven. I sprinkled the top lightly with cornflake crumbs and dotted some butter. I used cheddar, as it was what I had on hand, but I think using a different cheese, such as the gouda, would take it over the top. I agree with some of the other reviews as well and would add some cheese with the mushrooms next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. February 20, 2005

This potato dish was fantastic! My family are strict plain mashed potato fans and they adored this dish! Light and fluffy, tasty, as well as visually appealing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarahcw80 February 20, 2005

This is the best!!!!!!. I baked it in a round 4" (height) casserole. Beautiful color,nice height and wonderful flavor. I used canned mushrooms since I didn't have fresh ones at the cottage. Can't wait to serve it to guests. Thank you for a WONDERFUL recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 September 28, 2004

Excellent recipe that was popular with everyone including a fussy 3 year old. Used basil instead of parsley and mountain pepper [a native Australian pepper].

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat September 14, 2004
Duchesse Mashed Potato-Mushroom Puff