Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Duchesse Mashed Potato-Mushroom Puff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Duchesse Mashed Potato-Mushroom Puff

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2008

      This was a fun recipe. I added a little heavy cream to the mixture and made enough to fill a souffle dish so increased the amount of Gruyere cheese. This was very good. Next time I will use Machego cheese and add to ramekin dishes. Very elegant, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Excellent recipe and flavor! Was excited to see it "puff up" in the oven, too! I cut the recipe in half and made them in individual ramekin dishes...it made 4. Is great to pack in lunches and re-heats pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I made this today for an early Easter dinner side dish. I messed up on a few ingrediants... I forgot to add the baking powder and had only purchased an 8 oz package of mushrooms. But everyone still loved them. They didn't quite puff as beautifully as they did in the above picture, but I'm sure that's due to my error. They also need to cook longer than what the recipe indicated by 10-15 minutes more. I would definately try them again, and many people asked for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Fantastic. Made it to serve with a Prime Rib. Added Gruyere cheese and made it a couple of hours before dinner. Cooked in in a pyrex bowl and also shredded the cheese over the top. It made a beautiful presentation and all of my guests loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      I made this to rave reviews. It was pretty and simple. I will be making this again and experimenting with different cheeses. It was fantastic with gouda. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      Wow. I took advantage of the other reviewers' comments and used smoked gouda, adding some over the mushroom layer as well as mixed into the potatoes. I did prepare mine in the morning, covered it with plastic wrap and left it at room temperature until it was baked about 5 hours later. Apparently that was too long as the baking powder didn't activate and the potatoes never really "puffed." No matter, no one knew any differently, it was still gorgeous and the taste and texture was out-of-this-world good. My recommendation is to make more than you think you'll need because this is going to be one popular dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      This was so easy to make and looks beautiful when it comes from the oven. I sprinkled the top lightly with cornflake crumbs and dotted some butter. I used cheddar, as it was what I had on hand, but I think using a different cheese, such as the gouda, would take it over the top. I agree with some of the other reviews as well and would add some cheese with the mushrooms next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2005

      This potato dish was fantastic! My family are strict plain mashed potato fans and they adored this dish! Light and fluffy, tasty, as well as visually appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      This is the best!!!!!!. I baked it in a round 4" (height) casserole. Beautiful color,nice height and wonderful flavor. I used canned mushrooms since I didn't have fresh ones at the cottage. Can't wait to serve it to guests. Thank you for a WONDERFUL recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      Excellent recipe that was popular with everyone including a fussy 3 year old. Used basil instead of parsley and mountain pepper [a native Australian pepper].

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2004

      Beautiful presentation and flavor -when you don't know what to expect the surprise layer of mushrooms and onions is an added bonus. I cut the recipe back to serve 2 and found the potatoes were a bit moist but it still puffed nicely. Next time and there sure will be a next time I will do the whole recipe - This is a real "dinner party" recipe. I have had it printed to try for at least 2 months and finally did it. Hope the picture represents the recipe as you would like to see it. Thanks Evelyn for another winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2004

      Evelyn, my sons (young adults) usually come home for Sunday night suppers, friends in tow. They never know what to expect, because Sundays are when I 'experiment'. They love the suspense, apparently, because I almost always have a crowd. :) Your potato dish was on the menu this time, and it was the hit of the evening! After reading the other reviews, I did add a little Gruyere. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Besides tasting great, it puffed up beautifully. The golden top sprinkled with paprika made a lovely presentation. Every single kid (including two who don't particularly like mushrooms) voted to give this one 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2004

      I made this recipe for a dinner party, all my friends really loved it, though I agree with the other reviewer that a little cheese could take this dish to another level...I'll try again adding a layer of fontina cheese slices between the mushroom filling and the top potato layer. The only thing I changed was mashing the potatoes by hand because in my family mashing potatoes in a processor is a mortal sin...!!!(;P) Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2004

      This was an exceptionally easy dish to prepare and was very well received. I used an oval pyrex dish, the preparation was done early in the morning and served at lunch. I think that an additional grating of cheddar cheese over the top could also be nice. Very good dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Duchesse Mashed Potato-Mushroom Puff

    Serving Size: 1 (377 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.4
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    18%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 77.8 mg
    25%
    Sodium 520.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites