Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Date Pinwheels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Date Pinwheels

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2003

      Hey Winkki! My Grandma used to make these cookies EVERY Christmas! She hasn't been baking much recently due to her health, and I totally forgot about these cookies! In my cookbook it goes!!! I can't wait to make these this year and surprise her! Thanks so much for posting! HIGHLY recommended ~Manda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Love these delicious cookies! I usually make half of this recipe, using only one egg, the full amount of salt, and no baking powder. I add 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Both the dough and the cookies freeze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      These are an all time favorite in my family. I could not find my mother's recipe to maqke them this holiday, so I searched and found this one. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      After reading all the other review, I decided to make only 1/3 of the recipe, just in case I miss the recipe (I'm a novice baker). Well, guess what? These turned out GREAT! (they were a little bit ugly, but it doesn't mind a bit) I even subbed the 1/3 c. of shortening for 1/4 c. of oil. It may have made the dough more sticky, but the result was so worth the effort. It may also made the cookies crispy, but that the way we like it. I left out the nuts and reduced the sugar in the filling (half the amount). Instead of 2/3 c. of brown sugar, I used 1/2 c. + 1 tbsp of Splenda brown sugar Blend. Just the right sweeteness. My mom said it was one of the best cookie she ever eat. This blew me away, because when I make cookies, she is never really impress. My sister didn't want to touch them because she doesn't like dates...well, too bad for her!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      These cookies have been a family tradition for many years. My mom started making them when I was very young, and I'm over 50 now! It's one of the things at our house that makes Christmas extra special for me as they are my favorite! Try them, they are incredibly delicious! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      My mother has been making this recipe over 25 years. She lost her recipe box in a recent move. We didn't know what we were going to do for cookies at Christmas this year. I'm so glad to find the recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2006

      Very tasty cookie. I appreciated all the other reviews and heeded them. You definitely want to roll out the dough between wax paper. Even after refrigerating for several hours there is no way that dough would work otherwise. I only put a half cup of sugar in the date mixture, which was perfect. And because of a different recipe's review somewhere, I decided not to bother cooking the date mixture. Using my blender and a small food processor I chopped one lb. of whole pitted dates with the water and sugar and it made a nice thick paste with the perfect date flavor. Also, if you want nice-looking round pinwheels, freeze all the logs instead of chilling them and slice that way. They'll never get quite firm enough in the fridge. I also used butter instead of shortening and it made a nice chewy cookie. And one more thing, I got 8 dozen out of this recipe, not 20.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      I tried this recipe because my husband came home last month and surprised me with 10 pounds of dates he bought. I like dates but 10 pounds?!. Yesterday I saw this recipe, and tried it immediately. Now I feel so sorry that I didnt find this recipe sooner. The cookies taste so good with a hint of cinammon. Kind of too sweet for my taste but its a perfection for my husband. It took a little more effort to make but they're worth it. I replaced the shortening with butter and I used almonds as the nuts (almonds and dates are the perfect combination). I used two parchement papers, put the dough in between and rolled it with my pinwheels. Then I cut the dough to make a perfect square and spread the filling and rolled it slowly into a log. I chilled the dough logs in the freezer for 2 hours and baked it for 11 minutes. Btw, I am going to make it again tomorrow. Yes...They're THAT GOOD !~ :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      I didn't actually make this recipe, my niece did and brought over a plateful for me. Excellent cookies!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      Not a recipe for the baking novice. There was quite a bit of work involved in handling the dough, but the results a tender moist cookie made it well worth the trouble. A couple of tips that worked for me. First, I rolled the dough out on waxed paper, and used it to get my pinwheels to roll up. I also popped my logs into the freezer which made it much easier to slice. Doing this added a minute or so to the baking time, but helped keep the roundness of the cookie. My biggest problem now is I made a half batch to take to a dinner party and there aren't enough extras to have a stash at home. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      I was going to post these as MY father's favorite cookie! Actually , Dad loves anything with dates. I made these for him and he loved them. They are worth the work!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Date Pinwheels

    Serving Size: 1 (2174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.3
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    32%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 31.7 mg
    10%
    Sodium 187.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 42.8 g
    171%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites