Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Cranberry Tea Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cranberry Tea Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 21, 2008

      Wonderful! I used a bundt pan, but next time would use a tube pan. The cranberries are so pretty on the "bottom" and it would be nicer to serve the cake with that side showing. I also included 1 tsp. fresh orange zest per your suggestion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Every fall I stock up on cranberries, freeze them, and use them throughout the year. I was looking for new recipes and came across this one. It was so delicious, and since there's fruit in it, we ate it for breakfast. In order to bring out the flavor of the cranberries, I used a teaspoon of orange extract and a tablespoon of orange zest. I also lightened the cake up by replacing the butter with half a cup of oil. Will definitely make again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I madethis cake today, I baked for 35 min in 4 mini loaf forms. I covered two cakes with orangIe glaze and two I dusted with powdered sugar. I love the cake, but for my husband it was way too much cranberries but he said it was good.. The cake was very easy to make, I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Excellent cake, very easy to follow recipe directions! I made it in several loaf pans; plus I added about 2 Tablespoons of orange zest, as this actually does enhance the cranberry filling. Also had to adjust it for High Altitude and it still came out just fine. Will make this again for sure! Thank you, for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This cake was delicious! It did not come out as beautiful as in the picture, but I blame that on my oven... But it did taste great! My mother gave me a recipe for a sourcream coffee cake from the "cake bible" which is similar, but a lot more time and bowl consuming and the results are just as good! So I will use this simpler recipe from now on! The cranberries went really well in this sweet cake. I am very impressed and I think I will make this cake many times again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      Delicious cake with a great combination of flavours! Quick to make too - always a bonus! I baked in a 25 cm (9") round cake pan for just over an hour. However, the cranberry filling was really tart - a function of the cranberries I used, no doubt (maybe the Scandinavian variety are tarter?), but next time I'd definitely decrease the amount of berries. I think this recipe would work really well with lingonberries and red currants too - will definitely experiment this autumn! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      My step daughter brought home a pre packaged cranberry walnut cake from a local store. It was really good, but I am sure homemade would be better. I am going to try this recipe this week with walnuts instead of almonds. I will also make a powdered sugar/milk glaze to drizzle on top. Thank you so much for such a great recipe from all the previous reviews it must be a winner. I will rate it after I make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      Excellent cake. Lovely and sweet and moist and nutty. Exactly what a cake should be. I have baked it twice now as the first time I didn't get a chance to get a slice before it was devoured! I used a regular cake tin and had to cook it for just over an hour. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

      my family and company loved this cake. i used ground hazelnuts instead of almonds and added some wild blueberries to the cranberry filling-yum!! i also added about 2-3 tablespoons of almond paste to the butter when i creamed it with the sugar-yum, yum!!! i think next time i will try it without the cinnamon, or maybe less cinnamon. this is definately a new family favourite. love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      This is a lovely cake for the holiday season. I brought it to a potluck & it was a hit. Although I liked it with the almonds, I think dd probably won't & so next time, I will use orange rind & more cranberries instead of the nuts. Thnks, winkki

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      I have made this cake for years, from the original cookbook. It's always a favorite. It also divides very well into several mini-loaves, perfect for gift-giving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      Winkki, this is an absolutely fabulous cake! I added a little orange zest, and some almond extract...did not use the almonds. It's still on the rack cooling and it has two pieces missing!!! Thank you for sharing, I'll make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      I've made this cake for several years, and it is delicious! I do like it with almonds, but I have tried other nuts mixed with the cranberries as well, depending on what ingredients I have on hand. I also found myself wanting it once when I had no cranberries in the house and I used some escallopped apples and nuts and the cake came out good that way too! It's a beautiful, versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      This is a dense, sweet cake. We loved it. The ribbons of spiced cranberries made a beautiful presentation in the sliced cake. The flavors were wonderful. I baked my cake for 50 minutes and it tested done with a cake tester. However, it could have baked just a bit longer for the portion of cake in the bottom of the pan. My oven needed a little closer to the 60 minutes recommended in the recipe. Hubby ate 2 pieces tonight and has claimed the rest for the morning. LOL It is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cranberry Tea Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 510.0
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    41%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 96.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 372.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 39.9 g
    159%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites