10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out an excellent cake. Moist texture with a rich butter flavor. The pecans added a hearty crunch. The frosting was oh so sweet and rich. My parents came over for dinner and they were impressed and delighted with how this tasted too. Thanks :)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarabeth123 December 06, 2002

I made this as a surprise for my husband to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. We both like butter pecan flavored things. Since I have never made a cake from scratch, I was a little apprehensive. This cake turned out superb if I do say so myself. Easy enough for a beginner and the taste was divine. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalie Z November 21, 2002

My hubby requested a butter pecan cake. I usually use the box version but my grocery store no longer carries it. So I gave this a try. Holy cow was this the ticket! Toasting the pecans in butter makes this cake awesome. I made it in a 9x13 cake pan and baked at 350. It did not fill the pan as much as a box mix does so I shortened the time to 35 minutes and it was perfect. I also used my regular butter cream frosting (per his request). He told me 3 times "this is great" Needless to say I will always use this recipe for the butter pecan requests.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okieinwyoming May 08, 2013

It was great, but I over-cooked it, and still I received many compliments. I personally think it would have been better cooked the right amount of time, so next time I will cook as stated. I doubled the frosting, based on another review, but had to add much more milk than stated, it was perfect. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethHallKelley October 07, 2009

I cut the recipe in half to make just a single layer since it is just DH and myself home now . WONDERUL cake and easy to make. I added just a touch extra milk to the frostong to make it softer since a reviewer said it was a "hard" frosting. Definite keeper Made for I recomend tag 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 March 15, 2009

This is a very easy cake to make and has a really nice rich flavor. The toasted pecans relaly add that buttery flavor. This really only makes enough for two 8 inch layers with just enough icing, I only mention this because some recipes make two huge layers that can easily be made into 3 or 4 instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean February 20, 2009

This is a very good cake. The only exception that I make is that I add about 1/3 cup of the roasted pecans to the icing and it make it extra rich. This is not a soft icing it is suppose to harden.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Cake Baker May 24, 2007

I made this for my mothers 44th birthday and she loved it! I personally think it is alot better than the cake mix you buy at the store! This was a great recipe and I am sure my mother will be asking for this recipe for at least another 44 years!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef September 12, 2006

The frosting was VERY good. It has a good taste but seems to need a bit more moisture. Maybe next time I'll add more butter to the mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julynn508 December 27, 2003
Butter Pecan Cake