Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Brussels Sprouts Hash With Caramelized Shallots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brussels Sprouts Hash With Caramelized Shallots

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2009

      Delicious way to cook Brussels sprouts. The balance of the apple cider vinegar and the sugar in the cooking of the shallots was fabulous. :) I've never really understood why Brussels sprouts are so maligned, but if they're looking good when you're shopping, this recipe is SO worth trying. A little discrepancy between the Ingredients list (3 tablespoons oil) and the Directions (3 tablespoons of butter), but I followed breezermoom's recommendation here anyway and used much less oil and butter. And I confess to having difficulty following instructions to use water in recipes. I used 1/4 cup of water and 3/4 cup of a light white wine. Yummy recipe: thanks for sharing it, Annacia. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This was really good, but I love brussel sprouts! It was a little greasy...maybe a little too much oil. I will do this again, but I won't add anymore oil in the seventh step. I love brussel sprouts, even when they are just boiled with a little salt. So I have to say I loved the recipe...but I will definitely decrease the amount of oil and butter the next time I use this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      Very good way to serve Brussels sprouts! I made this with a 10 ounce bag of shaved sprouts from Trader Joes so decreased the rest of the ingredients accordingly. I liked that I didn't have to cut up the sprouts! :) I LOVED the salty/sweet taste of the onions; the only change I will make for next time is to double the amount of onions; you can never have too many caramelized onions! Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Very good. Sauteed brussels sprouts never disappoint. I skipped the butter, sugar and water to keep it unadulterated. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      Oh so good. Served with chicken cordon bleu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      This wasn't anything you'd call fancy or pretty to look at but it sure tasted good. To keep more with the Italian theme, I replaced the apple cider with balsamic. Water wasn't reducing to my liking and I poured some off, increasing the heat to help the water along. Accompanied tomato sauce over quinoa pasta. Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      I finally found a way I can eat Brussels Sprouts. These are delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Awesome! I would fix this again and again and ...I steamed the brussels after halving them instead of thin slices. Would also recommend using small young brussels and not larger, older ones. Did use margarine and cut amount since I prepared this for a patient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Loved the flavors in this wonderful side dish. I cut the recipe down to serve 2 and it worked out great. The butter is confusing because it says divided but it's only listed once in the directions. So I used just a touch in step 7 in place of the oil. This is a keeper and will be made often. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I didn't feel this recipe was worth the effort. When all was said and done, it was still just brussels sprouts. The shallots didn't add anything, and slawing the sprouts was just extra work on thanksgiving when I already had my hands full. I won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Wow! If you don't like brussel sprouts--you MUST try this recipe! I've only had brussel sprouts twice in my life that I actually liked, but not anymore! I did make some changes just simply because of ingredients on hand and I started the recipe before I had it in front of me (I was thinking there was bacon in the recipe). I fried some bacon first, then removed most of the grease and set the bacon aside. I didn't have shallots so I used a yellow onion. I sauteed the onion in the bacon grease, then seasoned with Penzey's tellicherry pepper and shallot salt. I followed the rest of the recipe from there. Finally, a brussel sprout recipe that is delicious!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      This recipe was successful in swaying many who swear they don't like brussel sprouts this Thanksgiving. I loved it, and am making it again for Christmas. I cut the brussel sprouts by hand which was rather time consuming, and decided to try using a food processor next attempt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      About to post from the Thanksgiving section of Bon Appetit, Nov. 2007. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This is delicious. I did about half the recipe. And I have leftovers :) Thanks Annacia :) Made for Newest zaar tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brussels Sprouts Hash With Caramelized Shallots

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 128.0
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    57%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 60.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites