14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious way to cook Brussels sprouts. The balance of the apple cider vinegar and the sugar in the cooking of the shallots was fabulous. :) I've never really understood why Brussels sprouts are so maligned, but if they're looking good when you're shopping, this recipe is SO worth trying. A little discrepancy between the Ingredients list (3 tablespoons oil) and the Directions (3 tablespoons of butter), but I followed breezermoom's recommendation here anyway and used much less oil and butter. And I confess to having difficulty following instructions to use water in recipes. I used 1/4 cup of water and 3/4 cup of a light white wine. Yummy recipe: thanks for sharing it, Annacia. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder April 05, 2009

This was really good, but I love brussel sprouts! It was a little greasy...maybe a little too much oil. I will do this again, but I won't add anymore oil in the seventh step. I love brussel sprouts, even when they are just boiled with a little salt. So I have to say I loved the recipe...but I will definitely decrease the amount of oil and butter the next time I use this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 05, 2008

Very good way to serve Brussels sprouts! I made this with a 10 ounce bag of shaved sprouts from Trader Joes so decreased the rest of the ingredients accordingly. I liked that I didn't have to cut up the sprouts! :) I LOVED the salty/sweet taste of the onions; the only change I will make for next time is to double the amount of onions; you can never have too many caramelized onions! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH May 04, 2013

Very good. Sauteed brussels sprouts never disappoint. I skipped the butter, sugar and water to keep it unadulterated. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito August 12, 2012

Oh so good. Served with chicken cordon bleu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom March 06, 2011

This wasn't anything you'd call fancy or pretty to look at but it sure tasted good. To keep more with the Italian theme, I replaced the apple cider with balsamic. Water wasn't reducing to my liking and I poured some off, increasing the heat to help the water along. Accompanied tomato sauce over quinoa pasta. Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 14, 2011

I finally found a way I can eat Brussels Sprouts. These are delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debaker January 12, 2011

Awesome! I would fix this again and again and ...I steamed the brussels after halving them instead of thin slices. Would also recommend using small young brussels and not larger, older ones. Did use margarine and cut amount since I prepared this for a patient.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sailin' Babe November 15, 2010

Loved the flavors in this wonderful side dish. I cut the recipe down to serve 2 and it worked out great. The butter is confusing because it says divided but it's only listed once in the directions. So I used just a touch in step 7 in place of the oil. This is a keeper and will be made often. Thanks for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas July 16, 2009

I didn't feel this recipe was worth the effort. When all was said and done, it was still just brussels sprouts. The shallots didn't add anything, and slawing the sprouts was just extra work on thanksgiving when I already had my hands full. I won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burr1210 December 01, 2008
Brussels Sprouts Hash With Caramelized Shallots