20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I live out of the States so things like chipotle peppers are hard to find so I left them out. It still turned out really good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios November 26, 2010

Delicious side to our grilled chicken! I subbed Tabasco 'Chipotle' Sauce for convenience, tried 'Durango' smoked salt but most importantly scattered the pine nuts on top of the broccoli mixture the last 6 minutes of cooking. Otherwise they would have burnt. Interesting combination of flavors! Reviewed for Veg Tag/May.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 19, 2012

Made as directed and this was very good. It did get a bit too brown in the specified temp/time. So I'd reduce one or the other. Very unique and delicious recipe. Thanks for sharing! Made for Best of 2012 Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 30, 2013

Unique and tasty. We liked the addition of chipotle peppers a lot, but especially loved the crunchy pine nuts. Thank you for making broccoli interesting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp January 22, 2012

Wow, we really enjoyed this dish. It boosted our fresh broccoli to new flavor heights. The smoky touch from the chipotles in adobo sauce really added a delightful taste boost, and the pine nuts was a great addition too. They cooked nicely but still had a slight crunch that matched the roasted broccoli and made a perfect pair. I add just a little more garlic than is called for in the recipe, but that is a taste preference (we all love extra garlic). I will make this often. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Rita~.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal October 06, 2011

Awesome way to cook broccoli!! I was a bit dubious cos I had never heard of roasting broccoli but it is beautiful. Try it, i highly recommend this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kooker July 16, 2011

Thank you so much for this great recipe!! I get so tired of the same old vegetables and this was a great alternative! Even my broccoli hating 12 year old liked it! I did leave out the chipotle pepper since we were having chipotle pork chops, didn't want to overwelm the dinner :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green Salsa September 30, 2010

Absolutely outstanding! I, unfortunately, hate the taste of chipotle pepper (not a fan of smoke flavors in anything) and subbed in 3 jalapenos that I de-seeded. I sprayed this with garlic EVOO rather than use the 1/4 cup of oil and followed the recipe as stated. Sheer perfection! Will definitely make again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl January 15, 2010

Delish! This is quite a treat compared to our usual plain steamed broccoli. The seasonings were just right; spicy but not over bearing. This is the first time I have roasted broccoli and it came out perfect- the timing was right on. The pine nus are wonderful and give it a smooth nutty taste. I made this for the vegetarian/ vegan recipe swap. Thanks for posting, I would make this again for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker August 03, 2008

Yum!! Great flavor, loved it. I used the pre-cut broccoli florets in the produce section, and subbed a dash of red pepper flakes for the chipotle peppers. Definitely my favorite way to eat broccoli!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anotherjenny April 30, 2008
Broccoli Roasted With Garlic, Chipotle Peppers and Pine Nuts