Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Thanksgiving / Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Better Than Pumpkin Pie

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2008

      When I made this at Thanksgiving, my son was very disappointed that there wasn't any pie. He ASKED for it at Christmas, and he wants me to make it for the dessert competition at an upcoming picnic. My husband thought it was terrific, because it combined the flavors of his two favorite holiday pies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      This is a great dish. My husband introduced it to me as Pumpkin $#!%. I said, "oh we can't call it that." So I call it Pumpkin Stuff. I've also tried Pumpkin Upside Down Pie. It is really good. My husband says the way to do the butter is to cut it into the tiniest of slices and cover the whole thing with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      this is a great recipe, I have made it many times with no problems. My variation calls for a spice cake mix instead of yellow cake. Also, instead of using a 2 layer mix, I prefer to use a one layer mix which I find to be more than adequate. For nuts, I recommend pecans. Bon appetite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      Great taste, but I will add a regular pie crust on the bottom next time I make it. The pumpkin pie bottom layer didn't set on the plate very well without a crust under it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      Sorry all, I just thought the cake mix out-did the pumpkin. I savor the taste of the pumkin in a pie, so this just did not do it for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      I have had this before many times, a friend of mine made this a few years ago and it is requested every single year at thanksgiving and christmas. I cannot tell you how much I love this recipe. It is wonderful WARM. MMMMMMMM!!!! Heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      Excellent! I followed other reviewers advice and added TWICE the butter - it was fabulous. I passed this recipe on to just about everyone who tasted the results! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit. My mother asked for the recipe, and I'm making it again for Christmas. The only thing I changed is, I didn't use an entire cup of nuts. And next time I might try a little more butter for the top. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      This was OK. It is very sweet. I must admit that we had over half of it left after Thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      this stuff is addicting, I was going to post one like this but now I don't need to. A friend gave me this recipe in 1998, and it has wow,d everyone who has tasted it since.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      I absolutely love this stuff! I've made it for years but looked to see if there was a recipe here for me to review. It has a very rich taste and is so easy to put together. This is a great alternative to pumpkin pie if you would like a little change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      What I do to make the topping so it is not still dry after baking. Fisrt I use alitle more butter then called for. Sometimes I add just about 1/4 c. of oil like olive, or your favorite oil. Then after I pour on the butter, I use the back of a spoon to kinda blend it all in, or at least level any high spots of the cake mix so all is level. Do this lightly, it works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2004

      Where did I go wrong? Although the pumpkin base was delicious, there was still some dry powdery cake mix in the topping when I cut the dessert. I felt that either the cake mix was too much or the melted butter was too little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      I made this for our Christmas dinner dessert. Everyone loved it and I got tons of compliments! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      This recipe was great because I love pumpkin but hate pie crust! This was eay and so tasty! My kids loved it,too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      This was EXCELLENT! Sooo easy to make and delicious too. My friends and I made this when I was visiting them and the three of us polished it off in just a few days all on our own. Thank you so much for posting, Teresa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Better Than Pumpkin Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 604.5
     
    Calories from Fat 267
    44%
    Total Fat 29.7 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 102.6 mg
    34%
    Sodium 527.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 54.9 g
    219%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites