16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When I made this at Thanksgiving, my son was very disappointed that there wasn't any pie. He ASKED for it at Christmas, and he wants me to make it for the dessert competition at an upcoming picnic. My husband thought it was terrific, because it combined the flavors of his two favorite holiday pies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Y May 29, 2008

This is a great dish. My husband introduced it to me as Pumpkin $#!%. I said, "oh we can't call it that." So I call it Pumpkin Stuff. I've also tried Pumpkin Upside Down Pie. It is really good. My husband says the way to do the butter is to cut it into the tiniest of slices and cover the whole thing with them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 November 22, 2007

this is a great recipe, I have made it many times with no problems. My variation calls for a spice cake mix instead of yellow cake. Also, instead of using a 2 layer mix, I prefer to use a one layer mix which I find to be more than adequate. For nuts, I recommend pecans. Bon appetite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lezlie November 17, 2007

Great taste, but I will add a regular pie crust on the bottom next time I make it. The pumpkin pie bottom layer didn't set on the plate very well without a crust under it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ericaerica December 16, 2005

Sorry all, I just thought the cake mix out-did the pumpkin. I savor the taste of the pumkin in a pie, so this just did not do it for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tonia B November 28, 2005

I have had this before many times, a friend of mine made this a few years ago and it is requested every single year at thanksgiving and christmas. I cannot tell you how much I love this recipe. It is wonderful WARM. MMMMMMMM!!!! Heavenly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauradoony November 03, 2005

Excellent! I followed other reviewers advice and added TWICE the butter - it was fabulous. I passed this recipe on to just about everyone who tasted the results! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jocelyn Bennett December 18, 2004

I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit. My mother asked for the recipe, and I'm making it again for Christmas. The only thing I changed is, I didn't use an entire cup of nuts. And next time I might try a little more butter for the top. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurrk December 12, 2004

This was OK. It is very sweet. I must admit that we had over half of it left after Thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill4man November 29, 2004

this stuff is addicting, I was going to post one like this but now I don't need to. A friend gave me this recipe in 1998, and it has wow,d everyone who has tasted it since.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazymom November 14, 2004
Better Than Pumpkin Pie