9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this this past Sunday for a family get together. What a wonderful treat it was. Everyone loved it. I did make it in a 9X13 pan, and baked it approximately 10 minutes longer. Worked out wonderfully. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right February 18, 2003

Everyone loved the cake and even asked to lick the frosting from the bowl. :) But for me it's too sweet. I would reduce the sugar next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karolina_London March 11, 2009

Exceptional recipe, and the frosting is also good not only for this cake but for other fall treats (spread it on graham crackers or apple slices or cornbread).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TKSellman October 20, 2008

Very pretty cake but was very rich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 06, 2005

This is a great cake. I love the texture. It's one of those cakes that tastes better the next day. I took it to work and it became history in a hurry. Thanks again, NurseDi. I envy your family for getting to eat at your house every night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2bizzy June 02, 2004

I tried the cream cheese frosting on a yellow moist cake recipe that I got from here and it was great. I have yet to make this entire recipe but I will. I'm actually looking forward to it as I already know the frosting is yummy!!! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT March 29, 2004

This was the highlight of our Thanksgiving dinner. WOW is about all I can think of to say. It looked regal on my cake stand. Moist, yummy, textured cake with that rich and creamy frosting. My dad got up in the middle of the night to sneak a piece. He left a trail of crumbs so we caught him. Thanks for a truly outstanding cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenna Naquin December 04, 2003

This cake was a hit at Thanksgiving this year. It was sooo good it was gone in minutes and I had to make another one the next day! I highly recommend this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicole pezely December 01, 2003

Got fresh-picked apples from our local apple orchard. Had to find something special to use them in and this recipe was the answer. This cake deserves way more than 5-stars. I used 8-inch round cake pans. The cream cheese icing with the caramel was sweet, creamy and totally delicious. Gonna have to make this one again for Thanksgiving. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarabeth123 October 11, 2003
Apple Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting